HNU Faculty Development Update for Week of April 12-18, 2010


Welcome  to the inaugural issue of the HNU Faculty Development Update — a  brief weekly newsletter to keep you in the loop on faculty development activities & accomplishments, plus a weekly Mac tip & more!

Faculty Development Emergency?

Have you gotten stuck trying to do a task you were just sure you had already learned? Interested in learning a new technology? I can help!

Stop by during my drop-in hours at the Technology Support Center (Brennan 80), send me an email (, give me a call @ ext 1462 or visit my Faculty Development/Instructional Technology Guide. I’m here to help!

Faculty Development Hours this Week:

Drop-in Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 12:30 pm-2:00 pm. Make appointments in advance or drop-in!

NOTE: Faculty Development drop-in hours are now being held in the new & wonderful Technology Support Center (Brennan 80).

Appointment Only Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 9:00 am-4:00 pm

Technology Support Center

Technology Support Center

Special Projects Last Week

Last Friday, I was invited to Edith Jenkins-Weinrub’s  NURS 235 class to give a workshop on two topics: How to add a podcast (audio) to PowerPoint and  how to properly add media to PowerPoint (using the Creative Commons license and the popular photo-sharing site, Flickr). It was my first of many workshops in the Technology Support Center!

Edith’s class will be creating PowerPoint Presentations with a built-in Podcast to teach disaster preparedness to a community site of their choice. A panel of disaster preparedness first responders will be reviewing the presentations! These presentations will actually be used within the communities that they were designed for!

In the process, I created two how-to  guides. Let me know if you’d like a copy of the guide  or  personal instruction on these tasks.

Mac Tip of the Week #6: Battery Power!

The Mac Tip of the week now has a new home right here! Previous Mac Tips were posted on the Cushing Library Hawk Squawk.
Each week, I will provide a tip I have learned from attending or giving a workshop, helping faculty, working with the Information Technology Dept, etc. I hope that you will find them useful!

Have you ever wondered EXACTLY how long you have before your MacBook battery will run out of juice? In this tip, learn how easily to change your battery display settings so that you  will know how much time you have left before you need to plug in!

3 Responses to “HNU Faculty Development Update for Week of April 12-18, 2010”

  1. HNU Faculty Development Update for Week of April 26-May 2, 2010 « HNU Faculty Development Update Says:

    […] workshop that I conducted for Edith Jenkins-Weinrub’s  NURS 235 class  on April 9 (see April 12-18 update) one faculty member exclaimed “Sign me up for a similar project this […]

  2. Joyce Mills Says:

    I am not sure how to incorporate this into my classes- but I tech nursing theory both to undergraduates and graduates and am interested in expanding my use of multi-media. I would be interested in talking more with someone about what’s possible. Looks exciting! Joyce

  3. Faculty Development Update for Week of May 17-23, 2010 « HNU Faculty Development Update Says:

    […] the Disaster Preparedness Presentations with Podcasts that her NURS 235 class are creating. See the April 12th update for more details on the […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

